My Top Five Geek Girl Icons of Today

The kind of women that make geekdom cool…

They’ve become icons, even role models– whether they like it or not. So, this blog post is dedicated to five of the present-day geek-girls that I personally find rather inspirational. It is by no means an exhaustive list. There are many, many geek-girl icons of the past that I, without doubt, admire wholeheartedly. But this post is dedicated to the new and the now– the female geeks who are icons for the present generation of female geeks everywhere.

Without further ado…

5. Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth You may know her as the author of Divergent and its sequel, Insurgent. Veronica Roth wrote the first book while she was still in college, and at 21 years old, she got her first book deal with Harper Collins. This lady is 3.. almost 4 years younger than me, and I seriously admire her dedication and talent.

I read Divergent in one night. Roth does an incredible job of making the reader constantly NEED to know what is going to happen next. It’s brilliant, really, and if you haven’t read her books– well, you should. And that’s all I’m going to say about that.

4. Zoe Saldana

Zoe-Saldana I loved this girl when she was in Center Stage, but since then she has done so much more. In the geek-girl world we know her as Uhura in the remade Star Trek, and Neytiri in Avatar.

Before that, she had a long and dedicated career with parts both big and small. Her determination has gained her a lot of respect in the field, and I’m sure we’ll see more of her in the near future! (Including the sequels to both Avatar and Star Trek!)

3. Tricia Helfer

Tricia Helfer
You know her from Battlestar Gallactica— the bombshell cylon with intense emotions. But did you also know that she was the voice of EDI in the video game Mass Effect?

Yeah, Tricia Helfer is like the geek-girl-robot!

Plus, she has an amazing smile. That’s hard to beat!

2. Felicia Day

Felicia Day I should admit, I didn’t start watching The Guild webseries until it was already popular, but that’s because I hadn’t heard of it yet! Then, once I watched the entire five seasons in a weekend, I had to know more about the woman behind it. I found her story really inspirational. She’s the ultimate geek-girl, and proud. In addition to The Guild, she’s had roles in her fair share of sci-fi series including Eureka, Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer! Currently, she works on Geek and Sundry which is a collection of geek-related webseries. I am a dedicated follower of her weekly video blog: The Flog.

1. Katee Sackhoff

Katee Sackhoff And now for my personal number one geek-girl idol: Katee Sackhoff! Known for her role as the tough-girl Starbuck in Battlestar Gallactica, Sackhoff actually classifies herself as more of a girly-type girl. This is probably why I like her so much!

Also, I’m super excited to be seeing her on my TV again starting June 3rd (in one week!). Sackhoff will be playing the character Victoria Moretti in the new series Longmire. She’s also landed the role of Dahl in the Chronicles of Riddick sequel coming out in 2013.

To learn more about Katee, check out this great interview on collider.com.

3 thoughts on “My Top Five Geek Girl Icons of Today

Leave a Reply

