Summer Reading list

20120424-180707.jpg

I don’t read as much as I should. When I do, I usually go for the newest dystopian fad rather than something classic. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with this, mind you. I like being up to date on popular books and supporting living authors. Also, I never want to lose that feeling that reading is fun, so forcing myself to read something that I think I should has never been easy for me. In fact, I’m practically notorious for putting down books that I just can’t get into.

All that said, I will be attending an MFA writing program next fall, and there are a few books that I would like to have under my belt before then. I’ve calculated it, and I have 20 weeks until the program starts. So, my goal is to read at least 10, hopefully more, in this time.

So, here’s the beginning of my list, the books that I’m definitely going to read. As for the rest, I would absolutely love to hear your suggestions. Whats your favorite book that you think everyone should read? I look forward to hearing your responses!

My Summer Reading List

1. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
2. Maurice – E.M. Forster
3. Atlas Shrugged – Ayn Rand
4. 1984 – George Orwell
5. My Antonia – Willa Cather
6. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
7. Daniel Deronda – George Eliot

6 thoughts on “Summer Reading list

  1. It is an interesting list. I am a huge Virginia Woolf fan–anything by her–Joan Didion’s Book of Common Prayer is also a favorite, and like Woolf, anything by Didion. Would also recommend the Bronte sisters and something of Hemingway and Fitzgerald as well as Eudora Welty. Of course, you may have read any I have mentioned but as a writer, I think these people are important.

    Reading is a great goal and good luck to you in your MFA program.

    Karen

  2. The suggestions made for my MFA in Creative Writing were Rebecca by Daphne DeMaurier, The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros. One suggested during my BAIS was My Name is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok. I’ve gone on to read his other books. You’ve got a good list. I haven’t read some on there! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

