May Writing Contests

Silhouette of Cassandra Austen (1773-1845), si...

Writing Contests are great. Even though the odds are that you will not win, I truly believe that entering a contest can benefit you and your writing. They impose much-needed deadlines, help you gain exposure and can even be inspiring.

Then, if you do happen to win, there can be a big pay-off in the form of money, publication, or both.

As you may have heard in my last post, I was accepted into an MFA program which will begin this fall. In order to help myself get ready– both mentally and *crosses fingers* financially– I’ve started to create a personal database of contests and their deadlines. I probably won’t enter every one, but gtasks will let me know when a deadline is approaching, and hopefully I’ll be able to send something in!

So, I’ve made this one of my ROW80 goals: At least one contest a month, and I’m hoping I’ll do much more than that.

After I spent a few hours gathering deadlines from multiple sources, I realized that this list might help more than just me. So, here it is: writing contests organized by deadline from now through the month of May. Follow the links to go to the website and see the details.

I do apologize in advance to the poets, as most of these are fiction-related.

April/May Writing Contests

Monday, Apr 30, 2012

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Friday, May 18, 2012

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Thursday, May 31, 2012

If you happen to know of any contests that aren’t on the list, let me know and I’ll add them.

Best of luck!

6 thoughts on “May Writing Contests

Leave a Reply

