ROW80: Reorganizing Your Priorities

ROW80 Truth time: I haven’t been doing as well as I’d like with all my goals. However, I’ve decided not to beat myself up about it, because that’s hardly going to help. And I don’t think that anyone else should be giving themselves a hard time either. And here’s why.

Goals change. They grow and mold and take on lives of their own. When I find that I am not reaching my goals, the most important question that I can ask myself is– Did I set my goals too high, or am I just being lazy? The answer will determine how I tackle the problem. Either I kick myself in the rear, or reorganize my goals.

I don’t look at reorganizing goals as a bad thing. Even if the slack is due to laziness, taking the time to look over your previous goals reminds you of what you had promised yourself. And re-working them brings you back into the game, giving you a new shoot of energy.

So, this is what I’ve done about it. I’ve organized my previous goals into a list of descending importance. At the top of the list are the things that I really must get done. If I’m low on time, they are what I should focus on first. Then the next, and so on. I think this will help in both perspective and organization.

  1. My novel in progress. For at least an hour a day I should be editing this. Unless there is some sort of severe life-or-death of a family member situation, I should not sacrifice my creative time.
  2. Exercise. I have not been doing this nearly enough lately. I love running, and have let the effects of a recent injury (nothing serious) drag on a bit too long. Even if I don’t run, I should do something active every day.
  3. Query. If I don’t make contact, I’ll never get the job!
  4. Blog. I love this thing, and I need to keep up with it at least twice a week.
  5. Draw. This is my fun creative activity. I’m not that great, but I enjoy it, so I should make time for it!
  6. Read. 

And those are the most important at the moment. I’m happy to announce that two of the items on my original list of goals are completed, and that is finishing all my MFA applications, and completing Mass Effect 2.

Best of luck to all by fellow ROW80ers! I’m excited to hear how you’re all doing. Any tips you use to keep on track?

4 thoughts on “ROW80: Reorganizing Your Priorities

  1. I’m in a re-prioritizing mode right now, too. I really like that you include doing fun creative stuff in your list of things. I am going to make sure to include some creative playtime in my update schedule, as well. 🙂

    I found you on Twitter via #ROW80. Nice to meet you!

    ~Tui

    • Nice to meet you as well! Yeah, I think a re-prioritizing is necessary every once in a while. Just to give yourself a refresher if nothing else! I’ve been a relatively newly converted “scheduler”, and I always add an hour or two of “playtime” a day to my schedule. This way, I get some breaks, and I don’t have to feel guilty, because that’s what’s scheduled! I love it. 🙂

  2. Nicole -you have the spirit of ROW80 sussed! 😀 That’s the way to tackle any setbacks; evaluate, note down what you have achieved; why other goals have gone wayward and then reorganise -it’s just perfect!

    Learning from mistakes or being over ambitious is a great skill; with this attitude I’m sure you’ll succeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

