Skyrim ~ I am in love

Bethesda developed the Creation Engine for Sky...

I am consumed. Seriously. Over the past few months I have heard how amazing everyone thought this game was, but I had yet to join in on the fun. To be honest, I’m usually more of a Bioware girl. I enjoyed Oblivion, but there’s just something about the story and cinematic quality (and steamy guys!) from the Bioware games that I absolutely adore. But Skyrim, well it’s just in a league all its own.

I’ve played for probably a total of 10 hours, and I still feel like I’ve only dipped my toe into this massive sand box. The main story line is engaging, pulling the player right into this whole world and civil war situation, that they can choose whether or not to take a part in. That’s what I love about Elder Scrolls in general, the ability to choose your character’s own path. Bioware games do do this slightly with Mass Effect’s Paragon vs. Renegade, and the many choices that must be made in Dragon Age. Do you let Morrigan have a demon child or do you die? But it’s still not anywhere close to the extent of games like Oblivion and Skyrim.

In Skyrim, you are simply thrown into this world where you must somehow find your way. Where will you sleep? What will you wear? Who will you help (or kill) along the way? Oh, and did I mention that you can get married?!? I’m sure the romance scenes won’t be quite as– let’s say emotional as my memorable night with Kaidan Alenko, but I’m pretty excited all the same.

The downfalls. I wanted to play as a wood elf, but just couldn’t get her to look pretty enough! I know, super shallow, but there it is. However, I’m happy with my lovely Redguard, Isolde, so I can’t be too upset. Also, I wish there was an easier way to use regen in combat. The favorites list for skills and weapons is useful, but so far nothing beats the LS hotkeys in Dragon Age. Although, I guess I’ve traded that for the left hand, right hand attacks. Can’t have it all, I suppose!

Well, that’s where I’m going to have to leave you, friends. It’s Sunday, and my xbox and I have a date. 😉

 

ROW80 Check in…….

  • Blog three times a week: Doing well!
  • Read and Comment on 5 other blogs daily: Slacking…
  • Work on my Novel in Progress 1 hour a day: Done and more! I’m really enjoying the editing process.
  • Finish my MFA apps by their deadlines: Nearly finished!
  • Complete Mass Effect 2 by March 6th: Obviously I’ve moved on to Skyrim. 🙂
  • Wake up earlier: In order to do this I guess I should be going to bed earlier.. hmm.
5 thoughts on “Skyrim ~ I am in love

  1. Hooray for Skyrim! I’m a massive fan too, and it keeps eating up my time when I should be writing. There’s just so much to explore! I agree that the wood elves look a little bit… odd. I suppose that’s the point, but it is a bit off-putting when you’re trying to make a character (and I always try to make my characters as pretty as possible too!).

    Funny thing is though, I enjoyed the first Mass Effect but just couldn’t get into Dragon Age at all. I gave up after the first few hours. Wonder if I should go back to it?

    • Yeah, I guess I see where they were trying to go with the wood elves, and they’re not hideous.. I’m just picky. ^^

      Dragon Age is really frustrating if you play it after you’re used to games like Oblivion or Skyrim, simply because you’re stuck on the fluffin’ path! It’s a good story, but I prefer Mass Effect. 🙂 Still, give it another try. Also, Dragon Age 2 is better imo, and you don’t really need to have played the first one to get into it (unlike Mass Effect where it’s a continuous story). So you should give it a try!

      • Hmm, I may have to give Dragon Age another go. There’s a copy kicking around the house somewhere, so I won’t lose anything by trying it again, anyway! My next RPG is probably going to be Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, though. There have been a lot of big names involved in its development, so I’m hoping it’s going to be as good as it looks!

Leave a Reply

