ROW80: Jumping in Late, but still ready to race.

ROW80 Logo I’m jumping in late, but there’s never a bad time to make goals right? I guess I could have waited until the next round, but that would have been just another method of procrastination, something that goes completely against what ROW80 stands for!

I have a few goals that are nagging at me. Things that need to get done or I’ll fall into a rut and have to climb my way out, which seems much more difficult than avoiding the rut in the first place.

Without further adieu, here’s my list of hopefully attainable goals.

Goals for ROW80

  1. Blog three times a week. Twice here, and once on http://www.njcloutier.com , my father’s mold inspection website that I’m helping him with.
  2. Read and comment on 5 other blogs daily.
  3. Outline and finish the edited draft of my Novel in Progress. – or at least an hour of work a day.
  4. Finish my MFA applications. (Less of a goal and more of a requirement, but important enough to include, I think.)
  5. Complete Mass Effect 2 by March 6th! (Yes, I included a video game goal. But free time’s important too!)
  6. Wake up earlier.

And I think I’m going to leave it there for now, even though I have a nagging feeling that I’m missing something important. My WIP goal seems a bit vague, so I’ll have to work on narrowing it down. Basically I have a very rough first draft from NaNoWriMo, so my goal is to take it apart and expand it.

I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with deadlines and goals, but I think if I do this right, setting attainable goals and working just a little bit towards them each day, I’ll be able okay.

And as long as I stick to Goal #2 then I look forward to seeing how everyone else is getting along as well! Happy Journey.

~Nicole

8 thoughts on “ROW80: Jumping in Late, but still ready to race.

  1. Good luck! Glad you joined in! I love the video game goal… Maybe I should add some free play in as well! See ya around next wednesday!

    • Thank you! I’ve found that adding “play times” to my GTD schedules in the past have really helped me stick to my to-do lists! It gives me a scheduled time to do the fun stuff, and since it’s on my schedule I feel less guilt while playing, which makes it even more fun than it already is. 🙂

  2. Your goals look fine. I especially like that you allowed yourself a smart contingency “finish OR at least an hour a day”, never know how long revisions, adjustments, etc will take on a novel. Love the video game goal, unique for sure, but you aren’t alone (I have a secret love for a game called Titan’s Quest and yes it does help with the writing).

    Glad to have you with us, Nicole. Hope your week is fantastic!

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! Yeah, basically I just didn’t know how long exactly it would take me to finish the editing process. I actually felt a bit like I was cheating when I added the “or” but I’m glad to get your seal of approval. 🙂

      Best of luck to you as well!

  3. Great goals, can’t wait to see how you are doing at the check in! So glad you joined us! ROW80 has made a huge difference in my writing output and my writing life!

Leave a Reply

