“He had to do something.” But what??!

a stressed writer

Some days the writing is just so incredibly difficult.. Not that I expect it to be easy, but there are days when I can plow through, punch out the pages, and I walk away feeling great! And then there are days like today…

During my last writing session, I passed by the 50,000 word mark, which made me happy, excited, proud! Since my tentative goal for this draft is around 100,000 words, it meant that I had reached the half-way point. Then this morning, when I sat back down at my computer screen, I re-read my final sentence from yesterday. It’s not one I’m proud of, and it is most likely the reason that I had such trouble this morning, but I’m going to share it with you anyway. It was… -takes deep breath-

He had to do something.

But what did he have to do? What???! Am I going insane because I can’t think of the answer? So I wrote a whopping 140 words, and now I’m going to take a walk.

I really don’t mean to complain. I love writing, I really do. I mean don’t we all? And we continue to do it regardless.

Apologies for the whining. I’ll go ahead and leave you all with a good quote so I can feel as if I didn’t waste your time completely. 🙂

I am irritated by my own writing. I am like a violinist whose ear is true, but whose fingers refuse to reproduce precisely the sound he hears within.
Gustave Flaubert

2 thoughts on ““He had to do something.” But what??!

  1. I have done this more than a couple of times: found myself re-reading something, then hitting a line like the one you’ve shared with us, and went, “What was I gonna do here?” It’s maddening. But, funny thing is, you’ll probably come up with something better than what you wanted to say.

Leave a Reply

