A Writer’s Soundtrack

While I’m writing I always need some music in the background. I put on my awesome set of Bose headphones and drown out any other noises that might try to sneak their way in and distract me from what I’m supposed to be doing. My dog barking, my phone ringing, the laundry. Those are not the things that I want to hear while I’m “in the zone” (as my father calls it.) ^^

Usually I listen to music without any words but I do occasionally listen to some other soft music.

Anyways, that’s enough of me! I’ll let the songs go ahead and speak for themselves.

Most often I listen to a group called Escala. You may have seen them on Britain’s Got Talent. They are seriously awesome.

More recently, I’ve been listening to an instrumental group called Hammock. Also worth a look!

So, I’m very curious what everyone else listens (or doesn’t listen) to while writing. Let me know! 🙂

9 thoughts on “A Writer’s Soundtrack

  1. I always find myself writing while music is playing loud around me. I’ll listen to anything that fits the mood of what I’m writing.

    If you like instrumental stuff, try listening to Olafur Arnalds and his album “… And they have escaped the weight of darkness.” I always like listening to the Icelandic musicians. Their music is always so dreamy and landscape-y. It’s beautiful. Nice for writing the poignant pieces. 🙂

  2. Random commenter~ Being that I don’t watch television I haven’t heard of Escala until reading this post. They’re actually amazing. I don’t usually listen to instrumental music because, oddly enough, it ends up being more distracting than music with lyrics. I often listen to bands whose songs I know well (Aiden, AFI, Green Day, etc.) because then I can tune it out (totally beats the point of listening to music, but whatever).

    I am loving the video for that Hammock song. So beautiful ❤

    • I’m glad you like them! My sister also likes listening to music that she knows well while she’s writing. I find myself thinking the lyrics though if I do that! Though occasionally I do listen to Barzin because it’s so soft. If you like the Hammock video, you should watch some more. I love their music videos as much as I love their songs. 🙂

  3. When I wrote my last story I’d created a number of YouTube soundtracks that I’d write to every morning, and I’d keep track of them so I could use the times to determine how long I’d been writing. It was interesting to see what soundtracks I wrote best with as they played.

  4. I listen to a playlist I created on Spotify, mostly composed of instrumental trip-hop (RJD2, Ratatat, Bonobo, etc.), that I’ve titled (coincidentally) “In the Zone.” I like to have a steady, thumping beat but I get distracted by lyrics. I find I’m able to get a lot more writing done with the right music.

  5. I’m not sure if I’m the exception, but I don’t like to have televisions or music as background. My neighborhood is relatively noisy with traffic noise, people talking outside which I can clearly hear from my 2nd floor windows, and I just try to block all of it out.

    I constantly fantasize (and write in my blog about) going off to distant, remote places or quiet places to write.

    I’d be curious to know what you think of my post: What is A Writing Vacation? You may not agree with my suggestions! 🙂

    Thanks again for dropping by my blog today, nice to meet you Nicole!

    Carol

Leave a Reply

