Spontaneous Flashbacks

Yesterday, I was at a loss for what to write. I’ve reached a point in my story where I’m not really ready for the ending, but yet I feel like I’m missing stuff in the middle! Normally I try to write chronologically, or linearly anyway. I just keep on plowing forward to make sure that I get my words done.

But since I didn’t know which way to go next, I just wrote a flashback from the perspective of my main character. I didn’t even bother including any nifty sort of transition! How scandalous! (well I figured I can add that fancy stuff in the edit, right? heh)

Anyway, it was a bit of a break from my normal writing regime. I mixed things up and it felt good! It seems like a good thing to give your brain a semi-violent twist, squeezing out the ideas that have been hiding out in the crevices.

I may find a place to stick the flashback when I’m in my editing phase, then again I may not. It doesn’t really matter I suppose! Whoa there. I’m just throwing caution to the wind today, aren’t I? ๐Ÿ˜€

So what do you guys do to get the juices flowing when you’re stuck? I highly recommend the spontaneous flashback if you haven’t tried it already. And if you have, do it again!

4 thoughts on “Spontaneous Flashbacks

  1. Sometimes when I get stuck, I try to find out where the original inspiration came from. Maybe a book, maybe a movie, or an image. I reread, rewatch, or re-look (the last two are not words, I know) at whatever it was and I dug up the feeling that pushed me to start that story in the first place. And if that still doesn’t help, I set it aside for a day and try to work on something else.

    A spontaneous flashback is clever! I never thought of that! What a creative way to get past the wall!

  2. Thanks for your “like” and for subscribing to my blog. Your attention, and certainly your goal of 1500 words a day, gives me inspiration.
    I know what you mean about not knowing what to write sometimes, often I’ll just put down broad strokes of an idea and soon I find the rest will often just fill itself in.
    Regarding listening to music while writing, I find it a bit too distracting itself unless its quiet and calming. Too much input for me is counterproductive. Anyway keep up the efforts, I’d like to read you someday.
    Dwayne

    • Thank you, Dwayne! I understand what you mean about the “broad strokes.” Sometimes it’s best just to write and see what happens. At least I think I’m on the same page there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

