1,500 Words A Day

This is how I do it… Every day I write 1,500 words of my novel. Sometimes this is easy and sometimes it’s not, but I make myself sit there until it gets done, even if I write complete nonsense that I know I am going to take out in the edit.

It was hard for me, and I spent many years not writing because I didn’t want to write what I considered to be crap. I thought that it was a waste of my time to sit there and write a stream of words that didn’t even take my story where I wanted it to go. But the thing that I had to learn is that it is never a waste of time to write. Even in those irrelevant tangents I often discovered something about my story or my characters that made writing the next day easier.

I’m not a published author, so go ahead and take this any way you’d like, but this is my process. My work is sporadic, I know at the beginning of the week what days I will be working, but not before. So, I can’t have the same schedule every day. What I do, is write out on a notecard my schedule for the next day. I don’t always stick to it entirely (I’ve always been horrible at keeping schedules) but I at least keep to my writing times, no excuses.

So here’s an example of what my schedule might look like on a non-work day.

7:30-8:30: Wake up, have breakfast.
8:30am-9:30am: Write
9:30am-12:00pm: (Various other activities: Exercise, Video games, twitter, etc.)
12:00pm-1:00pm: Lunch
1:00pm-9:00pm: (random stuff: Tv shows, drawing, etc.)
9:00pm-10:00pm: Write?

And on a workday…

6:00am-6:30am: Wake up, have breakfast.
6:30am-7:30am: Write
7:45am-6:00pm: At Work
6:00pm-8:00pm: Shower, have dinner, watch TV
8:00pm-9:00pm: Write?

This is the most important step for me: At the beginning of every writing session, I write down my word-count goal on a post-it. If I meet my word count goal, then I don’t write again that day. If I don’t, then I don’t stress about it! I just write again before bed. It’s a fact that I’m more tired when I wake up at 6am than when I wake up at 7:30. So while I go over word count on non-work days in my first session, on workdays I usually need my second writing time.

This works for me because I am a great procrastinator. If I don’t schedule it, then it’s likely I won’t do it.

And if I continue on this path of 1,500 words a day, then I should have my first draft finished in… 39 days! Hold me to that, will ya? šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “1,500 Words A Day

  1. I must say I give you tons of credit for waking up an hour before work to write! That takes a lot of determination. It takes a lot of determination to get a word count goal every day too. Sometimes it is soooo much harder than others. I have actually started doing the post it note thing too and i have a notebook sheet of paper of how many words I write every day and what the total word count for the book is. I highlight the days that I make my word goal and the other days I leave blank so I know how many days I need to catch up on the weekend. Yours is a much better method though, get it done no matter what. I need that kind of determination I think šŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your comment! There are absolutely some days that it’s way more difficult than others. I should admit that I have had a couple days where I wasn’t able to meet my word count. But I just start new the next day. I don’t like to add them to my weekends because that just stresses me out. haha. So, I just try not to beat myself up and I make sure to do better the next day. I’m enjoying it so far!

      Thanks again for stopping by!

    • Coffee of course! I seem to always need tea or coffee when I’m writing. And I completely agree about your timing. Morning or before bed. (I just happen to go to bed early! haha.) I’ve tried to write midday when I knew that my night would be busy, but it never works out as well. Overall my best writing time is first thing in the morning, before I’ve turned on the internet. šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for sharing the details of your schedule. Somehow, it comforts me to hear the reminder that even 1 hour a day of writing is precious work time.

    • Thank you! Yes, that’s something I have to remind myself all the time. When I expect too much of myself, it’s usually daunting, even paralyzing sometimes. So if I stick to the little steps I get it done. šŸ™‚

  3. Hey is Sug ^^ I think that all that effort that you put into making this novel is great! It shows that you are dedicated and really want to get this done. I don’t know how many times I would put something off like that and then end up never doing it because I could never find a time to do so or just didn’t know if it was a good time. Your doing great and I wish you much luck on this and maybe i’ll buy that awesome novel when its published šŸ˜‰

    • Hey Sug! ā¤ Thank you. And it's always a good time! Even just 15 minutes a day is better than nothing, right? Thanks so much for stopping by my little blog space. It's nice to see things crossing over. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

