Writing vs. Drywall

Earlier today I was screwing drywall to a garage ceiling and it got me wondering what other writers did for dough in the beginning.

I’m relatively young (25) and working on my first novel, but of course that’s not making me any money at the moment, so I help out with my father’s contracting business. It’s not too bad most of the time. There’s something to be said for about being physically exhausted after a day’s work. It also gives me time to think about my writing, since I’m given all the necessary yet monotonous, non-thinking work. (understandably…)

So, I thought I’d throw the question out there to whoever happens to be reading my humble blog– What do/did you do for money when you first started writing?

Eagerly awaiting your responses. 🙂

~Nicole

4 thoughts on “Writing vs. Drywall

  1. Einstein worked at the US Patent Office and I work at a printers. I have more time than money and i intend to spend it wisely so I write. The grass is not always greener, if you are passionate about what you write money will be no more than a footnote to your best seller. Keep the faith.

    “Money can’t buy you happiness but it does bring you a more pleasant form of misery.”
    Spike Milligan

  2. I was working in IT at the time and hating every minute. I got well into my novel, then lost my way, then had a lot of personal things happen that just killed me with writing. Now I’m not working, but I’m writing. So this is maybe the time for all things to come together.

Leave a Reply

