Breaking the Blank Page

I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while now. It seems like a good step in the right direction, and all my friends are doing it. Not that that’s ever a good reason for anything. Or is it?

The point is that today, I received a tweet by someone I don’t know, retweeted by someone else that I don’t know but apparently follow, that I should tweet about jobs to my GOP representative. So yes, what other conclusion can I come to that this world-wide internet network is something that I should be a part of. I am arriving late, it seems. But you know what they say.

Right, circling back… The reason that I didn’t start this blog earlier is because I was, and honestly still am, unsure just what to blog about. During WordPress’ very organized introduction, I learned that the most successful blogs are the ones that have recurrent themes. But while I am still unsure of this theme, I decided to open a blog anyway. Why? Well, I keep putting it off because I don’t know what my theme will be. So, in the end, this need for a theme prevented me from doing the thing that I wanted to and most probably should be doing. So will this initial post, with its obvious theme lack-ness, be my blog’s downfall? Possibly.

But in the end, this is the beginning I chose. Think of it as a place holder for now, making way for the more insightful posts that will follow. And now that this first post is done, I’m hoping the rest will come more easily. I have broken through the blank white page of my blog. Let’s hope it is a sign of good things to come.

~Nicole

4 thoughts on “Breaking the Blank Page

  1. Best of luck on your endeavor! You’ve got a great writing style that managed to hook me right in. Keep at it and before you know it, you’ll have a huge readership!

  2. Best of luck – it’s a great adventure & I choose to look at it this way: I love that other people read what I am writing, but if they didn’t I’d still want to write it, cause what a great record of what I am thinking, feeling, writing. I am really looking forward to looking back in a couple years time to see what has changed & see how I have grown.

    Keep writing, even without a theme, you have a great writing voice!

Leave a Reply

